It takes some fancy footwork to become a reflexologist but the warm-up won't last long. When you complete a reflexology training program and gain some practical experience, you can obtain a reflexology license long before the music ends.
Reflexology Licensing Laws
Before you enroll in a reflexology program, find out your state's licensing requirements to become a reflexologist. North Dakota has a reflexology licensing law, Tennessee has a reflexology registration law, and New Hampshire includes reflexology in a law with two other disciplines. Thirty-eight other states have massage laws, 26 of which exempt reflexology from those laws. In Louisiana and Missouri, reflexology is included in the cosmetology laws. Visit the Reflexology Association of America to find out your state reflexology licensing requirements.
Obtaining National Reflexology Certification
Even though you may not need to obtain a reflexology license, it can be beneficial to pursue national certification by the American Reflexology Certification Board (ARCB). Once you have earned certification, you will be registered with the ARCB, which demonstrates that you have met national standards for skill and knowledge in reflexology.
To be eligible to take ARCB's foot reflexology certification exam, you must be at least 18 and have a high school diploma or the equivalent. Then, you must complete a 110-hour reflexology program that's hands-on home study does not meet the requirements for ARCB certification.
After you graduate, you must document 90 postgraduate client sessions (30 clients seen at least 3 times each in sessions lasting 45-60 minutes). These 90 hours, along with the 110 classroom hours, meet the education prerequisite for ARCB certification. You will then be eligible to sit for the written and practical exam to become an ARCB Board Certified Reflexologist.
Note: You must be ARCB certified in foot reflexology before you can take the exam for hand reflexology certification. To be eligible for the hand exam, you must also complete an additional 30hours of instruction, plus 20 client sessions, to complete the required 50 education hours.
Applying to take the Reflexology Certification Exam
To apply to take the reflexology certification exam, you need to submit your application, authorization to release educational records, and a school verification form, along with the appropriate testing fee ($295 for the foot exam; $150 for the hand exam).
Applications are due 60 days prior to the test date, and you must sit for the exam within one year of applying. ARCB usually offers the exam at the same locationsat about the same time each year, and testing is often set to coincide with local reflexology conferences. ARCB does not test at schools or spas, only at conference or meeting centers. Some students choose to travel to a distant testing location, though they do so at their own expense.
ARCB will mail your exam results to you within 4-6 weeks. You must retake any portion that is failed within a period of two years. And to maintain certification, you'll need to complete 12 hours of continuing education every two years.
So if you take the exam in a timely manner, it's possible to obtain a reflexology license or certification in less than a year. Get ready to dance to the beat of a healing career!
| Massage Therapist
Elements Therapeutic Massage -Ken Caryl – Littleton, CO
CO Massage Therapy License. Deep tissue, trigger point, prenatal, neuromuscular, hot stone, prenatal, sports massage, reflexology, lymphatic, cranial sacral and...
| Massage Therapist
A Valley of Vitality – Prescott, AZ
Required license or certification:. Arizona state massage Therapist license. Hold current AZ state license to practice massage therapy....
| Licensed Massage Therapist
Massage Envy – Mason, OH
Required license or certification:. Massage Therapist License for the State of Ohio. Without a long list of other duties - all in a very collaborative...
| Dual Licenses - Esthetican, Nail tech, Massage
Strong dark & Handsome LLC – Smyrna, GA
Required license or certification:. Dual License - Estheticians, nail tech, massage therapist*. Current Ga state board of cosmetology license as required by...
| Dual License - Estheticians, nail tech, massage therapist
Strong dark & Handsome – Smyrna, GA
Required license or certification:. Current Ga state board of cosmetology license as required by state/provincial regulations....