In most states, waxing is covered under the cosmetology license or the esthetics license. It takes between 1,000 and 2,100 training hours to become a licensed cosmetologist, and it takes between 300 and 1,000 hours to become a licensed esthetician, depending on the state.
Currently, New York and Virginia are the only two states that offer a specialized waxing license. Read on for a financial breakdown of getting a waxing license in each of these states.
Waxing License in New York
If you want to become a wax technician in New York, you must obtain a waxing license in New York. You must be at least 17 years old, and you must complete a 75-hour, New York State approved course of study, an equivalent level of schooling from another state or country, or five years of legal waxing experience outside New York.
Approved waxing training programs in New York can cost anywhere from $250 to $2,000 for registration, tuition, and education materials. Some schools offer financial assistance to qualified students.
After you complete your training, you need to pass the New York State written examination to get a waxing license in New York. Those with five years of legal experience and those who previously held a waxing license in New York State are not required to take the exam.
The initial application fee for a waxing license is $20, and the fee for the written exam is $15. The term of licensure is two years; you must pay $20 for renewal.
You may also apply and pay $10 to get a six-month temporary waxing license if you want to work while you complete the exam process. Only those applying based on New York State or out-of-state education are eligible to receive a temporary waxing license.
Waxing License in Virginia
If you are a licensed cosmetologist in Virginia, or if you have completed 115 hours of waxing training or an equivalent amount of waxing experience, you may take the exams to get a waxing license in Virginia.
Approved waxing training programs in Virginia may cost anywhere from $1,000 to $3,000 for registration, tuition, and supplies; financial aid may be available.
When you complete your waxing training, you can apply to take the state licensing exams. The practical exam costs $80 and the theory exam costs $75. You can also become a wax technician instructor; the instructor exam fee is $75.
When you apply for initial licensure, you can also apply for a temporary waxing license to work under the supervision of a currently licensed wax technician or cosmetologist in Virginia. There is no fee for a temporary waxing license, which is effective for 45 days following your examination date.
Once you pass the exams, you must submit a $55 fee in order to receive your waxing license in Virginia. You must also pay $55 every two years to renew your license.
No matter where you live, you must obtain either a waxing license, esthetician license, or cosmetology license in order to become a wax technician. Your licensing costs will depend on the length of training and specific exam and application fees required by your state.
| Salon Manager and Stylist
Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon – Sparta, WI
License of Cosmetology:. We are a hair salon and perform cuts, waxing, color, texturizing and perms. Manager or Instructor of Cosmetology in the state of...
| Spa Positions in Nails, Hair, Facials and Massage
Desert Mountain Club – Scottsdale, AZ
Maintains a current Arizona Cosmetology License. Maintains a current Arizona Nail Technician License. Provides consistent professional facial and waxing...
| BUILDING SERVICES WORKER (FULL-TIME CONTRACTUAL)
State of Maryland – Baltimore, MD
The selected candidate should be an expert at waxing and buffing floors. Employees assigned such duties will be required to possess a motor vehicle operator’s...
| Janitor, Lead (2016/2017) - McMurdo
Gana-A'Yoo Service Corporation – Centennial, CO
Valid driver's license required. Scrubbing, stripping, waxing, buffing, shampooing, etc) preferred. Utilizing state of the art environmentally friendly cleaning...
Loomis Institute – Windsor, CT
Cleaning carpets and waxing floors. Valid CT drivers license required, box truckexperience a plus. Hourly/Non-Exempt....